Sliver lining to big-black ‘o-o’ cloud!

October 26, 2009 at 9:57 pm (Uncategorized)

My son turned 5! It was weekend. It was great to have party the same day! Otherwise, it is generally on the following weekend.

All was set, invites were designed by me and my husband. We had decided that for first 5 years, we would have unique(unique means that we will be the first to do it over there in our friend circle) place for party every year and using paper invite instead of e-vite and me writing a small poem for the invite instead of plain words. It was a challenge to find the ‘unique’ place which is appropriate for his age and for our pocketJ My DH did it though this time. We had all the RSVPs, all goody bags bought and packed, cake ordered with bowling design as that is where we were going! All memory cards of the camera emptied to fill again! We were happy this time that my son has not fallen sick, since that happens every year that around his birthday he is bound to be sick. L Many of his friends were ready to be in their Halloween costume as we requested since Halloween is around the corner.

 

And finally the day arrived, we were on our way to pick up stuff before we go to bowling alley. And a couple of called were received mentioned that DS’s friend can’t make it because they fell sick. My husband answered the phone saying ‘o! o!’. My DS asks me “so mom how come we are getting all the ‘o-o’ calls?” and I agree, I was not getting a good feeling about the party. We stopped for balloon pick up and again ‘o-o’ somebody else was given our pre-ordered balloons by mistake, store prepared new balloons for us and threw in some for free to compensate for their mistake. And we are riding along again, fearing one more ‘o-o’. Now it was time to pick up the cake….and I went through all the cakes in the pick-up closet. I could not find cake with our name. My heart was throbbing fast. Cake can’t be ready again like balloons! And finally, got some help, by mistake they had put my cake in wrong direction that name was facing the wall, and the front was covered with other cakes. All the cakes were placed correctly, just ours was not. Phew! At-least cake is found got in the car, my DH was in hurry as we were now running late after these two incidents. I sat in and he placed the cake in my lap, before I get adjusted and get the cake in the right position, he closed the card door, and cake box was pushed, luckily, my reaction saved the cake. Plastic on the top was touching now the cake decoration as one corner of the box was pushed due to car door. I had to hold the plastic till we reached. We reached 15 mins late, guest started coming. We planned to reach at 2.15 as game starts at 3pm and asked friends to come 2.30 to allow time for kids to get their bowling shoes and all. We ourselves reached at 2.30 instead just to find out party room which was supposed to use for cake cutting and pizza eating after the game was not ready at all. One more ‘o-o’. My DH got all the kids to get shoes etc, and I spent time getting the room ready as guest kept coming, I spent very little time with my DS outside – in bowling alley. When I came out when room was ready, my MIL told me that my DH fell in bowling alley while trying to help my son. A big ‘O-O’. Everything went ok afterwards – kind of – many friends ended up leaving sooner as they had another party afterwards which had come after accepting our invite. So could not do group pictures etc as planned. But still there were plenty kids. My son did not eat at all while all his friends enjoyed pizza and chocolate cake. Finally we went home and my husband realized his pain in his neck, back and wrist. With the fracture he had gone through last year, we did not want to take chance. After dropping DS and in-laws at home, we went to urgent-care. Luckily doc said no fracture, All we need is pain management. Came back, it was time for DS bed as next day school start and we had his school birthday celebration scheduled for Monday. We had to get ready for it. My MIL mentioned that he did not eat well. I was worried, he did not eat well at party and not now, what is going on? He is not a good-eater but he would still eat little bit. When putting to bed, I felt he was so hot and measure his temperature – 101.8. a VERY BIG ‘O-O’. It explains not eating. Gave him Tylenol. I was with him in bed, tired, frustrated and thinking why is he sick always around his birthday….this time while I was happy he was not, it came up end of the day…and in fever also he was happy, smiling, not ready to sleep so that he can be with me for more time, wanting to talk to me. He told me, ‘Mom! You know! I really loved bowling today. It was so so so so so much fun!, when will we go again?” and there! There was that silver lining to my big black cloud of ‘o-o’s in the day! I was satisfied, I was happy that final result was still the same after all the ‘o-o’s. He was happy and enjoyed his party.

 

He is still sick and running fever. My MIL was rush to ER last week due to her leg issue. My FIL who never had BP issue is running high BP. My DH is still in pain with his fall. In family of 5, 4 are not doing well. I am though! And project deadline is upon me. Caffeine in-take is very high for me now. But I am getting strength from those words, “mom, I really loved bowling today…. “

 

12 Comments

  1. Vimmuuu said,

    Oh wish your DS a speedy recovery. bday months are bad for me too. I end up in a lot of accidents during that time.

    Im glad he had a nice time. sick or not, that is what he is going to remember throughout.

  2. indianworkingwoman said,

    thanks for wishes! you too? hope next time around no accidents for you 🙂

    yeah agree, that is what would be remembered in long term

    • indianworkingwoman said,

      ok, so it turns out he is flu – probably H1N1. When we went to the doctor, they found he has ear infection… (which he rearley gets – knock on wood, this is 2nd time in 5 yrs. otherwise where we live ear infection is very common that kids have to have surgery to put tubes in ears. and he has walking pneumonia – which he is prone to get ….i can not count numbers on my fingers how many time he got it in 5 years) but still i was allright that i have been there, knew the drill. We started antibiotics, his fever was still coming back but now every 11-12 hrs. But in the evening now it is every 4-5 hours. Called doctor and said that though his flu test was -ve , in 30% case it is false. So based on his symptoms started treatment for flu and since regular flu is nto around yet, they are suspecting it is h1n1. No point in doing blood test as treatment is still going to be the same. let me just sail through the tough days…..hopefully things will be back to soon enough

      • Vimmuuu said,

        Holy crap ! Please please take care. I am sure there isnt anything. But please take care. He would be just fine, I am sure !

        • indianworkingwoman said,

          thanks. He is fine. Tamiflu did the trick. Though other issues continue, so i m still in hiatus.

  3. Lakshmi said,

    Hope your son is feeling better; several friends’ children got H1N1and recovered fairly quickly.

    Belated happy birthday wishes to him.

    I can commiserate with you on children being sick so often. Just last week my older one was down with ear infection and fever. Hugs to you all. Hope your husband, FIL and MIL feel better too. And above all that, you take care as well; right now with all the stress and the project deadlines.

    • indianworkingwoman said,

      yeah he recovered fast with Tamiflu, thanks dear

  4. Smitha said,

    Am really really late here.. Good to know that you are all better now 🙂 Must have been a difficult time for you. Take care!

  5. Indian Homemaker said,

    The silver lining is thick and strong!!! I am extremely late here, but had to leave a comment… I am sure everybody is fine by now… kids get fever out of excitement too, I am glad he enjoyed this birthday!!!

  6. Indian Homemaker said,

    But where are you these days? You are being missed!

    • indianworkingwoman said,

      Sorry I am back, now. That is so sweet. I will have lots of catch-up to do….

  7. Smitha said,

    Waiting for your next post 🙂 Hope you are all doing well.

Leave a Reply

